Posted by Jim Yeargan in on May 28, 2014
Georgia DUI License Suspension
One of the penalties associated with a DUI is a loss of driving privileges. Your Georgia Driver’s
License will be suspended if you plead guilty or are convicted. Entering a plea of Nolo
Contendere (No Contest) will not stop the suspension of your driver’s license. How long your license will be suspended for depends on the number of DUIs on your driving history.
If this is a first DUI conviction in a 5 year period then your Georgia DUI license suspension will be for 12 months. However, you may reinstate your full license early. You may reinstate your license after serving a 120 day suspension. You may reinstate your license after 120 days as long as you have completed DUI School, and paid the reinstatement fee to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
For a second DUI conviction within a 5 year period your Georgia DUI License Suspension is going to be for 18 months, and the first 12 months are a hard suspension. A hard suspension means there is no limited permit available. However, the driver may be eligible for a limited work permit after serving a 4 month hard license suspension. If granted, the driver will have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle for 8 months. After 8 months they may reinstate their driver’s license early. Otherwise, the driver must serve a hard 12 month suspension, and then have the ignition interlock device installed on their car for 6 additional months before they may reinstate their driver’s license.
A third DUI conviction within a 5 year period creates a Georgia DUI License Suspension of five years. However, the driver may be eligible for a limited permit after serving a 2 year hard license suspension. A third DUI conviction within a 5 year period will also declare the driver as a Habitual Violator. The requirements for reinstating a driver’s license after being declared a habitual violator can be extreme.