Posted by Rhan Pemberton in on December 5, 2014
Georgia No Proof of Insurance
Driving an uninsured vehicle, or without proof of insurance, is a misdemeanor in the State of Georgia, and is punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000 and 12 months in jail. However, most courts only impose a high fine for this offense. Courts are required to issue high fines for this offense because the legislature wanted to make it less expensive for people to insure their vehicles than it is to continuously receive citations for Georgia No Proof of Insurance. Additionally, being convicted of this charge will suspend your driver’s license, or privilege to drive in the state.
Being unaware the vehicle you’re driving is uninsured is not a defense to this charge. You are not required to know that the vehicle is uninsured, or missing its proof of insurance.
However, there are several defenses which can help you avoid being convicted of this charge. One defense to this charge is being able to prove you did have insurance coverage when the ticket was issued. You can also defend against this charge if you were driving an uninsured vehicle, but your insurance coverage extends to any vehicle you drive. Further, if the officer issued you a citation because he could not find your insurance information in the state’s computer this is not a legal reason for issuing you a Georgia No Proof of Insurance Citation. These are just a few of the defenses that may be available to you.
If no defenses apply to your case, there is a special plea you can enter which will allow you to avoid having your driver’s license suspended. However, this plea can only be used once every five years. If the plea is used more than once in a five year period your driver’s license will be suspended.
To find out what defenses, and options, are available to you please contact us today.