Driving without Headlights in Atlanta
Driving Without Headlights in Georgia is a Traffic Ticket Point Deduction
According to O.C.G.A 40-8-20, you must turn on vehicle headlights at specific times or receive a traffic ticket. If the police see you driving without headlights you will be ticketed. The law outlines specific times when you must display vehicle headlights. The minor traffic infraction can have serious consequences to your driving record.
The state considers vehicle headlights as a factor in preventing car accidents or hitting pedestrians. For instance, the front and back lights on a vehicle are used to increase driver visibility and have other drivers see you.
When to Display Your Vehicle Headlights while Operating a Motor Vehicle in Georgia
In Georgia, a driver must illuminate their vehicle’s headlights or get in legal trouble. When driving, you must have your vehicle’s headlights on:
- At least 30 minutes after sunset
- During the early morning hours. This means at least 30 minutes prior to the sun rising.
- Any time there is bad weather in Georgia. Bad weather is considered any poor weather conditions preventing or decreasing road visibility. The type of weather conditions that require headlight illumination include sleet, fog, smoke and heavy rain. Any time driving visibility is under 500 feet, headlights must illuminated.
For instance, high-beam headlights should only be turned on when the vehicle is not traveling near any other vehicles. One example of this is driving on rural Metro Georgia roadways. You should always keep your vehicle’s headlights dim when you are:
- Traveling within 500 feet toward another vehicle
- Following another vehicle within 200 feet
- Driving in weather conditions like snow, rain or fog
Keeping headlights on but dim avoids decreasing another driver’s visibility. Often, headlights are too bright and cause glare.
Actions that can Get Your Ticketed for Driving Without Headlights at the Proper Times in Georgia
Not displaying your vehicle’s headlights when required is easy to do when driving. Most vehicles have an automatic headlight feature. The automatic feature allows you to operate your motor vehicle without having to worry about illuminating them.
Unfortunately, the automatic headlight feature on your vehicle may not always work properly. The vehicle may not turn the headlights on during the times required by law. You think they are illuminated until you are stopped by police.
Another reason why you may be ticketed for not displaying your headlights at the proper time is driving in a rented vehicle. Many rental car agencies have vehicles without the automatic headlight feature. Once again, you are driving without the knowledge of your headlights not being displayed at the correct time.
Many drivers who do not have the automatic headlight feature are often ticketed in the downtown Georgia areas. You have enough light illuminating the downtown streets so that you can see clearly. Like most drivers, you may not turn on your headlights. The next thing you know, a police officer is stopping you because you did not properly display your headlights.
You may even be ticketed in a Georgia for not having your headlights turned on while traveling in a parking lot.
Not Displaying Your Vehicle’s Headlights in Georgia is a Fine and Points Added to Your Driving Record
Georgia Point System ranges from two to six points. If you are charged with a headlight offense in Georgia, you face a fine and three points on your driving record. Points on a driving record can result in a driving licenses suspension.
For example, a driver with 15 points on their record in a 24-month period will have their driving privileges revoked. If the driver is under 18-year-old, they can have their driving privileges revoked if they have four points or more on their record. So an underage driver would have their licensed suspended if they already have one or two points already on their record.
Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC about Your Driving Without Headlights Violation in Georgia
The worst thing you can do is to accept the fine and points on your driving record without contacting a lawyer. Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC about your headlight requirement violation. We will fight your traffic ticket so you do not have to face a license suspension. If your traffic ticket is connected to a driving while under the influence criminal charge, Yeargan & Kert, LLC will fight that too.
Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC immediately.
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“Jim was informative, helpful and reassuring. He never misled me or promised something he was unable to fulfill. I was most impressed with his knowledge of the law and and his character. So many times I have heard of situations where what you’re told is not what you get. Jim is honest, reasonable and very dependable!!”