Driving on a suspended license charge is an offense frequently faced by motorists in the state of Georgia who are also charged with driving under the influence. An example of this offense occurred recently in Sumter County. A law enforcement officer in Sumter tried to stop a motorist, who proceed to collide with the officer’s vehicle several times prior to coming to a stop at a nearby intersection.
The motorist then left the vehicle and proceeded to fight with the law enforcement officer, who proceeded to shoot the motorist. The motorist and law enforcement officer both required medical treatment due to this incident.
The motorist was later charged with violation of probation in addition to speeding in excess of maximum limits, obstruction of a law enforcement officer, leaving the scene of an accident, driving under the influence, possession of an open container, aggravated assault of a law enforcement officer, reckless driving, driving on the wrong side of a roadway, failure to maintain lane, failure to stop at a stop sign, and driving on a suspended license.
Because there are a variety of situations in which a Georgia motorist may have a license suspended, it is very important for motorists to understand some information about having one’s license reinstated.
Charges That Can Result in a Suspended License
Georgia motorists should understand the differences between having one’s driver’s license cancelled, revoked, and suspended.
A driver’s license cancellation occurs when an individual is deemed ineligible to have a license.
An individual faces license revocation when an individual’s driving privileges are terminated for a specific period of time.
A license is suspended when an individual’s driving privileges are temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time. Some of the various charges that can result in a Georgia motorist having their license suspended include: driving under the influence, homicide by vehicle, hit and run, refusal of a breath test, and driving without insurance.
Consequences of Driving on a Suspended Driver’s License
The exact consequences faced by individuals who are charged with driving on a suspended driver’s license depends largely upon whether an individual has had any prior convictions within the previous five years.
- First Offenses. Drivers charged with a first offense face a misdemeanor that can result in two days to 12 months in jail and a fine between $500 and $1,000.
- Second or Third Offenses. Individuals who face second or third offenses within five years are charged with aggravated misdemeanor that will likely involve between 10 days to 12 months in jail and a fine between $1,000 and $2,500.
- Fourth or Subsequent Offenses. An individual facing a fourth or subsequent offense will be charged with a felony that will likely involve one to five years in prison and a fine between $2,500 and $5,000.
A suspension or revocation period will likely be extended by six months if an individual is convicted of driving after suspension or revocation of an individual’s driver license.
Discuss Matters With an Experienced Georgia DUI Attorney
If you face a charge due to driving on a suspended license or any type of driving under the influence related charge in the state of Georgia, you need nothing short of strong and experienced legal counsel. Contact the legal team at Yeargan& Kert, LLC to begin crafting a strong response to these charges today.