Driving with a suspended license is a very serious offense. A Georgia driver’s license, or someone’s privilege to drive in this state may be suspended, revoked, or cancelled for many reasons.These reasons include failure to appear in court, convictions for driving under the influence, or drug possession, or child support obligations.
Driving With A Suspended License Penalties
The penalties for driving with a suspended license can be incredibly severe. A conviction carries a minimum fine of $500 plus court costs, and 2 days in jail. If you were arrested when the officer pulled you over most judges will not send you back to jail if you are convicted of driving with a suspended license. This is true even if you only spent a few hours in jail on the initial arrest. If you were not arrested the judge will make you go to jail because your fingerprints must be taken, and entered into the system. This creates a criminal background for you, and the charge goes on your criminal history. Also, if you are pulled over for this offense the officer will most likely impound your car, and have it towed away from the scene, even if you are not arrested.
Driving With A Suspended License Additional License Suspension
A conviction for driving with a suspended license will create an additional suspend of your driver’s license. This is a minimum suspension period of 6 months. This suspension is a hard suspension which means there is not a limited permit available for work, school, or any other activity. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license your license will be further suspended, and you will not be able to legally drive for any reason. Entering a plea of nolo contendere, or no contest, may stop this suspension depending on your driving history, and when you last entered a nolo plea.
Some Reasons For Suspension
DUI convictions, drug possession, accumulating too many points on your license, driving without insurance, hit and run, failure to appear in court, and failure to pay child support or civil judgments.
Drivers who are pulled over while driving with a suspended license are almost always arrested, and have their vehicles impounded. Driving on a suspended license can be either a misdemeanor or felony in Georgia.
Misdemeanor VS Felony
Under this charge, a misdemeanor carries a minimum sentence of 2 days in jail, a $500 fine, and an additional 6 month license suspension. A felony charge is punishable with a minimum sentence of 12 months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a 6 month license suspension.
Just because you are charged with driving on a suspended license does not mean you will be convicted. Driving on a suspended license has many defenses, including the reason for the suspension, whether your suspension is by operation of law, or whether you had notice of the suspension.
To avoid a driving on a suspended license conviction, additional license suspension, and jail time, contact us today.