When motorists in Georgia are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the resulting consequences can be even more severe if they are found to be driving an unregistered vehicle. A Georgia motorist recently faced this type of situation.
In the incident in question, a motorist led law enforcement on a chase through several streets before the motorist crashed his vehicle and proceed to flee on foot. Although the man tried to hide from law enforcement, he was eventually caught.
The chase arose when law enforcement spotted a motorist without registered plates fail to stop for a stop sign at an intersection. As a result of the chase, several streets in Baldwin County were left filled with debris, and the motorist faces a variety of charges including driving under the influence, fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement office, six counts of failure to obey a stop sign, lack of proof of insurance, and operating an unregistered vehicle.
Applicable Georgia Law Regarding Unregistered Vehicles
Georgia law specifically addresses situations in which motorists drive an unregistered vehicle. All individuals who own a motor vehicle are required to obtain a valid registration every twelve months. Individuals who sell a vehicle or transfer a vehicle’s title are required to provide the most recent registration information to the new owner of the vehicle.
Individuals who move to Georgia should be particularly aware that individuals has 30 days from the date that they become a resident of Georgia to register a motor vehicle.
Consequences of Failing to Register a Vehicle
An individual who fails to register a vehicle or keep a vehicle registered in the state of Georgia and attempts to operate the vehicle on any Georgia highway or street can be found guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine of up to $100.
Fortunately, a charge of operating an unregistered vehicle is considered such a minor offense by the state of Georgia that this offense does not go on one’s driving record.
In order to be charged with driving an unregistered vehicle, a prosecutor must demonstrate that the individual knew the registration was suspended, which is a threshold that is hrad to meet. In some cases, the owner of a vehicle might have been given notice that a vehicle was unregistered, but the vehicle’s driver might not be aware of this condition.
Many drivers who face charges of driving an unregistered vehicle are able to successfully raise a defense that can lower the resulting repercussion of these charges.
Consult With a Skilled Atlanta DUI Attorney
When motorists are faced with charges related to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, one of the best ways to respond to such a situation is to retain talented legal counsel.
If you find yourself in a similar situation, consider contacting the legal team at Yeargan & Kert who will fight compassionately and aggressively for the justice you deserve.