Posted by Jim Yeargan in Jim's Blog on April 25, 2018
The Georgia Office of Highway Safety estimates that approximately 100,00 individuals will be injured and over 1,000 people killed in accidents that occur on Georgia roads in a year. While these accidents can create a large number of problems, one significant issue that arises in many accidents is that the driver who is liable for the accident is uninsured.
Georgia law states that a motor vehicle owner or operator must have adequate minimum insurance coverage. An individual borrowing a motor vehicle cannot use the lack of ownership as a defense if a motor vehicle is not insured. Motor vehicle drivers in the state of Georgia are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage.
At the very least, drivers must carry: $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 per occurrence, and $25,000 of property damage liability per occurrence. Unfortunately, many motor vehicle drivers in the state of Georgia simply ignore these insurance requirements and drive without any insurance at all.
The Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
Any individual who fails to comply with this Georgia law concerning insurance will be found guilty of a misdemeanor. If an individual’s insurance is terminated or expired, the individual’s insurance carrier will electronically notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If a driver can provide proof of new insurance within 30 days and there is no period greater than 10 or more days without insurance coverage, there will be no penalties for an individual.
In the event that an individual is able to provide proof of insurance during the 30 days and there has been a lapse in coverage, the individual will face fees from $85 to $185. If an individual does not provide proof of new insurance within the 30-day period, the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles will send a “Notice of Pending Suspension.” For first, second, third, and subsequent offenses, individuals will be responsible for paying $85 in fines due to driving without insurance and can face up to one year in jail.
Also, for a first-time offense, individuals will have their driver’s license and registration suspended for 60 days. For individuals who have committed third and subsequent offenses, the individual will have their driver’s license and registration suspended for six months.
No Proof of Insurance Charges
When an individual has insurance but does not provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer, the individual will be charged with “no proof of insurance.”
The maximum fine in these situations cannot exceed $25. Many courts will simply dismiss the charge for individuals who bring an insurance card or relevant paperwork to prove that the individual had paperwork.
Obtain the Services of a Seasoned Georgia Traffic Accident Attorney
Given the potentially serious consequences of driving without insurance, an individual facing this type of offense should consider retaining the services of a seasoned Atlanta accident attorney like the legal counsel at Yeargan & Kert LLC. If you are charged with Driving without Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, do not hesitate to contact our firm.
Our legal team knows what it takes to make sure that an individual does not lose his or her driver’s license.