Posted by Rhan Pemberton in Jim's Blog on June 25, 2018
One arrest can change the entire course of your life in an instant. In some situations, this change can happen after an altercation with a person you know or a stranger that you never expected to end in a criminal charge. If you are in a fight with another person, even if it is self-defense, if the other person contacts the police before you do, then you could find yourself in serious legal trouble.
In the state of Georgia, intentionally causing a bodily injury to another person that is visible is considered battery. If you or someone close to you is accused of this crime, knowing what to expect if you are arrested for battery can make navigating a frightening ordeal more manageable.
Many cases of battery start with a fight between two people. People can be friends, strangers, classmates, or even family members. Regardless of the relationship, once the police arrive, it is almost impossible to offer any explanation or excuse to avoid being arrested.
If the other person claims that you were the aggressor and they have visible injuries (swollen lips, a bruise, black eye, etc.), then the likelihood of you being arrested is high. Even students involved in a fight at school may find themselves arrested for simple battery if the other person has a visible injury.
Once you are handcuffed, placed in the police car, and transported to your local police station, you will be booked. The process of booking is the formal recording of your information such as your name and the crimes you were arrested for allegedly committing.
During this time you will be photographed, fingerprinted, and your personal property will be taken away from you for storage. You will be allowed to make one phone call before being placed in a jail cell.
An Initial Appearance
In order to make sure you fully understand the charges against you, an initial appearance before a judge in magistrate court will occur within 48 hours if your arrest involved no warrant and 72 hours if the arrest did involve a warrant.
During this hearing, the judge will set bail and if you have the amount of money set as your bail to pay, you will be able to leave the court to wait for your trial at home. If a person does not have cash, it is possible to contact a bail bondsman to stand as surety for a fee or pledge property that is worth the amount of the set bail.
Protect Your Rights With a Criminal Defense Attorney
Once you are arrested, having a skilled battery attorney on your side can increase your chances of having your charges dismissed or reduced. The penalties for being found guilty of battery in Georgia include a fine of $1,000 and the possibility of being imprisoned for 10 days to 12 months.
In addition to these penalties, you will have a misdemeanor charge on your criminal record that could make it difficult to gain employment. If you are facing these consequences, contact Yeargan & Kert. Call us today to discuss your charges and schedule an initial consultation so that we can begin working on your case.