Posted by Jim Yeargan in Atlanta DUI Law on October 9, 2015
How Many Points Can You Have On Your License In Georgia?
You have to accumulate 15 or more points within a 24 month period in order for your Georgia driver’s license to be suspended based on points. Please remember this 24 period is any 24 month period, and not just the past 24 months. The 24 month period is measured from the date of one citation to the date of another.
Drivers under the age of 21, who hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), or who hold a class of license other than class C will have their Georgia driver’s license suspended if they accrue 4 or more points. However, the vast majority of Georgia drivers are over the age of 21, and possess a class C license.
How Many Points Can You Have On Your License In Georgia: The Length Of Suspension
A Georgia driver who accrues 15, or more points, in a 24 month period will have their Georgia driver’s license suspended for a period of 12 months. HOWEVER, they may egt their license back immediately as long as the complete a state certified defensive driving school, and pay the reinstatement fee of $200 by mail, or $210 in person.
Even if your license is suspended you do not have to wait the 12 month suspension period before getting your license back. In theory, you could get your license back the same day it is suspended as long as you fulfill the requirements I just listed.
For those who need more time to complete these requirements a limited driving permit is available for this suspension. The limited permit is $25, and it is valid for one year from the date of issuance.
For a second points suspension within a 5 year period the suspension period increases from 12 months to three years. The driver may get their license back as soon as they complete defensive driving school, and pay a reinstatement fee of $300 by mail, or $310 in person. Again, there is no reason to wait the three year suspension period before getting your license back.
You may reinstate your license as soon as you complete these requirements. Also, there is a limited permit available for this suspension. The fee for the permit is $25.
For a third point suspension in a 5 year period the driver’s license is suspended for 2 years. There is no early reinstatement when this suspension is imposed. The driver will have to wait 2 years before they can reinstate their license. Also, there is no limited permit available for this suspension. Once the driver has waited 2 years he may reinstate his driver’s license by completing a defensive driving course, and paying the reinstatement fee of $400 by mail, or $410 in person.
How Many Points Can You Have On Your License In Georgia: The Points Schedule
Most moving violations in Georgia carry 3 points. However, the points for some offenses, such as speeding, vary. A speeding ticket can carry anywhere from 2 to 6 points depending on the speed. Other charge such as Reckless Driving carry 4 points while more serious charges such as Aggressive Driving and Running A School Bus Stop Sign carry 6 points.
The maximum number of points you may receive from a single citation is 6. However, you can easily accrue more than 6 points if you receive multiple citations from a single traffic incident.
I will post the point system matrix at the bottom of this blog. Please read the statute regulating points suspension in Georgia. For all of your license needs you may access the Georgia Department of Driver Services web site.
How Many Points Can You Have On Your License In Georgia: Keeping Points Off Your License
The most common way to keep points off your driving history is to plead Nolo, or no contest, to the charge. Georgia drivers over the age of 21 may enter a Nolo plea once every 5 years. The charge will still go on your driving history, and your insurance rates will increase, but no points will be assessed.
I have never been a proponent of pleading Nolo because I prefer to keep the entire charge, as well as the points, off my clients’ driving records. This way their insurance rates will not increase, and they will maintain a clean driving history.
To keep speeding tickets off your driving history the prosecutor needs to reduce your speed to 14 mph over the posted speed limit i.e. 69 in a 55 mph zone. All other traffic tickets need to be reduced to O.C.G.A. 40-6-180 Basic Rules violation. These charges will not cause your insurance rates to increase because they do not go on your Georgia driving history, nor do they assess any points on your driving record.
Another way to keep points off your driving history is to enter a plea under O.C.G.A. 40-5-57. You will have to attend defensive drivinf school, but points will not go on your driving history and you will receive a 20% reduction in your fine. Beware, the charge will still go on your driving history, and your insurance rates will increase.
Finally, points may be kept off your driving history by having the judge enter a “Zero Point Order.” This is an order the judge send to DDS ordering them not to assess points on your driving history. These orders are not always easy, and you may need the assistance of an attorney.
How Many Points Can You Have On Your License In Georgia: Hiring An Attorney
The easiest way to keep points, and charges, off your driving history is to hire an attorney who specializes in traffic law. My firm can keep you from having to go to court, and miss work. We know what the judges and prosecutors are looking for, and how to approach them to get what you need. If you have any questions about your citations please do not hesitate to contact me at 404-467-1747 to learn more. Please scroll down below my contact information to see the entire Georgia point system matrix.
Attorney at Law
1170 Peachtree Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30309