Posted by Jim Yeargan in DUI News on January 18, 2013
If you’ve been caught drinking and driving in the state of Georgia, you might be asking about an ignition interlock device.
Despite this being a part of DUI law in many states, not everyone knows what an ignition interlock device is or how to go about and get it. But if you find yourself in a position where you need to apply to an ignition interlock program, you might want to educate yourself.
Here’s a quick primer.
How an ignition interlock device works.
Ignition interlock devices are used to prevent a driver from operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The devices prevent the vehicle from operating when a certain amount of alcohol can be detected in the driver’s breath.
What Georgia DUI law says about ignition interlock devices.
In the state of Georgia, repeat DUI offenders within a five-year period must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
A second-time offender must wait, however, before applying to the IID program. The second-time DUI offender must wait until the end of a 12-month suspension. That’s when they can apply to the IID program. And even then, eligibility hinges on the completion of an alcohol or drug risk reduction program and clinical evaluation.
Where can you get ignition interlock devices installed in Atlanta?
Ignition interlock providers are listed on the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) website. You can choose your county from a drop-down menu and get a list of all providers, with their names, addresses and phone numbers.
Who Needs an Ignition Interlock Device
Individuals who are convicted of 2 or more DUI’s within a 5 year period as measured from date of arrest to date of arrest will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
Individuals who have multiple DUI convictions will not be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle as long as their most recent DUI conviction is their only conviction in the past 5 years.