Posted by Rhan Pemberton in Jim's Blog on December 5, 2018
A chain reaction accident on Interstate 75 involving three vehicles recently resulted in the death of one person and led to another individual facing criminal charges. The accident began when a driver’s vehicle was stopped by the police. The woman was then determined by law enforcement to be under the influence of alcohol.
A tractor trailer then came up behind the vehicle causing the tractor trailer to swerve at the last moment and strike a third vehicle. At the time the accident occurred, two adults and a child were inside the third vehicle and were pushed into a guardrail. A 56-year-old woman who was a passenger in one of the vehicles was also killed during the accident.
After being taken to a medical facility, the intoxicated driver was charged with driving under the influence, homicide by vehicle in the first degree, and improper slowing or stopping on a road.
Each year, many drivers in Georgia end up facing particularly serious charges because they are found to have broken laws about which they did not know. It is a wise idea for drivers in Georgia to understand some important details about these little-known laws.
Driving at or Below the Speed Limit
Georgia’s “Slowpoke Law” requires motor vehicle operators on the Georgia highway or interstate to move over if they are traveling in the left lane and a faster vehicle is traveling behind them. As a result, even drivers who are traveling the speed limit can end up being convicted of violating this law.
Drivers Must Move Over for Certain Types of Vehicles
In addition to law enforcement vehicles, Georgia drivers must move over for law enforcement vehicles, Department of Transportation Highway Emergency Response vehicles, and garbage trucks. This law was created to decrease the large number of emergency and department of transportation workers who were killed during traffic stops. If a driver is unable to pull over, he or she should slow down.
It is Illegal to Merge into Traffic from the Center Lane
Laws in Georgia prohibit the center lane of traffic from being used for any purpose besides a left turn. Drivers are prohibited from entering the center lane before they are 300 feet from the location where the vehicle will turn.
Driving with Open Alcoholic Beverages
Many people are aware that it is against Georgia law to drive a vehicle with an open container of alcohol. Passengers are also prohibited from traveling in this way. When these violations occur, drivers can end up facing particularly serious charges.
Turn on Your Headlights While Driving in the Rain
Law in Georgia requires car headlights to be turned on when it is raining. Many drivers depend on automatic lights, which do not turn on the rear lights as well. Turning on your headlights illuminates your entire vehicle.
Speak With a Traffic Ticket Attorney
No matter what type of driving offense you are charged with in Georgia, your best bet is to quickly obtain the assistance of a skilled attorney. Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC today to get the help you need to preserve your rights.