Posted by Jim Yeargan in Atlanta DUI Law on February 20, 2015
Georgia drivers under the age of 21 can easily have their driver’s license suspended for speeding, and other offenses.
Drivers Under The Age of 18
Driver’s under the age of 18 will have their license suspended for a minimum period of 6 months if they accumulate a total of 4 points in 2 years. Most moving violations in Georgia are 3 points, but speeding carries anywhere from 2 to 6 points depending on the speed.
A driver who receives this suspension does not have the option of getting a limited permit which would allow them to drive for work, school, and other limited purposes. This type of suspension is known as a hard suspension.
Drivers Aged 18 To 20
Drivers between the ages of 18 and 2 will have their driver’s license suspended for accumulating 4 points in a single incident. This commonly happens with speeding tickets. Speeding 24 mph, or more, over the posted speed limit carries at least 4 points.
Depending on the driver’s age at conviction, and speed, a limited permit may be available for work, school, and other limited purposes. The sentencing judge has complete discretion when it comes to granting this permit to under 21 year old drivers.
Pleading Nolo/No Contest Won’t Help Under 21 Year Old Drivers
Under 21 year old drivers cannot keep the points off of their license by entering a Nolo, or no contest, plea. While pleading Nolo will keep the points off of the license of a driver age 21, or older, this does not do the same thing for drivers under the age of 21.
If the judge were to accept a Nolo plea from a driver under the age of 21 the Georgia Department of Driver Services would convert the Nolo plea to a guilty plea, and assign points once they received the notice of conviction.
How To Stop The Suspension For Under 21 Year Old Drivers
The good news is many times a lower speed can be negotiated with the prosecutor, or the case delayed until the driver turns 21. Once the driver turns 21 their license will not be suspended. The suspension is based on the driver’s age at conviction, and not their age when they receive the citation.
Also, many courts offer programs for under 21 year old drivers that will help them keep their license. In exchange for attending driver improvement classes geared toward under 21 year old drivers, and fulfilling other requirements such as community service, many courts will reduce the driver’s speed or dismiss the charges.
Once such program is the Teens Learning Control (TLC) Program in the Municipal Court of Atlanta. To learn more about this program click on the following link: https://www.atlantaga.gov/