Posted by Jim Yeargan in Atlanta DUI Law on March 7, 2015
People arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), possession of marijuana, and other charges will most likely have to attend risk reduction school also known as DUI School.
How Long Is DUI School?
DUI School is either a 20 or 24-hour class depending on how you score on your assessment. Most individuals charged with their first DUI will only have to attend the 20-hour program. Regardless of which class you have to take most DUI Schools are all day Saturday and Sunday, and then either Friday evening from 6 PM to 9 PM, or Monday evening from 6 PM to 9 PM.
All schools are different and have different schedules. Some schools have a shorter class every night of the week, while others can squeeze everything into just 2 days.
What Is The DUI School Assessment?
Before beginning DUI School you must take an assessment which is a short test. The questions ask about your drug and alcohol use, views on alcohol and drug use, and family history. Your score will dictate whether you take the 20-hour class or the 24-hour class. The assessment is extremely similar to a drug and alcohol evaluation, but technically they are different.
Is The DUI School Curriculum The Same?
Yes. Since the DUI Schools are regulated by the State of Georgia all of the curricula is exactly the same regardless of which DUI School you attend.
Is The Price Of DUI School The Same?
Yes. Again, because the DUI Schools are regulated by the State of Georgia the price is the same regardless of the DUI School you attend.
I Was Arrested For Possession Of Marijuana. Why Do I Have Attend DUI School?
If you plead Nolo, or no contest, to Possession of Marijuana you must submit proof of completing DUI School to the State of Georgia Department of Driver Services within 120 days of your plea or your driver’s license will be suspended. Completing DUI School is required by the State of Georgia to avoid license suspension.
Further, if your driver’s license was suspended due to a drug conviction you must complete DUI School to reinstate your driver’s license.
Also, DUI School has several components focused on drug use and is not solely dedicated to alcohol use.
To learn more about the Department of Driver Services in Georgia visit their web site.
For a list of reinstatement fees please click here.
My DUI Charge was Reduced to Reckless Driving. Why Do I Have To Attend DUI School?
Even though you are not being convicted of DUI most judges will require you to attend DUI School. Even though drinking and driving were not involved to the extent to warrant a DUI conviction drinking and driving is still believed to have occurred. Judges will sentence you to DUI School so you may receive education on the topic.
I Live Outside Of Georgia. Do I Have To Attend A Georgia DUI School?
No. Georgia has reciprocity with most states and will accept out of state DUI School certificates as long as the school you attend is certified by your home state. To find a list of states whose DUI School certificate Georgia DDS will accept go here.
May I Attend DUI School Online?
No. You must attend an in-person DUI School.
Which DUI Schools Are Certified By The State Of Georgia?
For a list of DUI Schools certified in Georgia please click here.
For a DUI School FAQ provided by the State of Georgia DDS please click here.
Is There Anything Else I Should Know About DUI School?
Yes. Make sure you are not late for your class. They lock the door, and will not let you in for any reason. Georgia tests schools by sending spies to schools to see if they will let them in late. If they do the school will lose its state certification. If you are late to DUI School you have to start all over. Also, it will be the most boring weekend of your life.
Attorney at Law