All too often, drivers in Georgia face suspended license and DUI charges. Recently, law enforcement in Georgia arrested a driver who collided into a law enforcement vehicle. The incident occurred when a law enforcement vehicle that was traveling on Interstate 20 in Douglas County at a speed of 70 miles per house was struck by a large sports utility vehicle that was traveling at 100 miles per hour.
The law enforcement vehicle received significant damage at the rear end of the vehicle and the law enforcement officer involved incurred minor injuries. Law enforcement reports that if a civilian had been driving the vehicle that was struck, consequences could have been even more severe. The driver was subsequently charged with driving under the influence, speeding, following too close, and driving on a suspended license.
Causes of License Suspension
There are many reasons why individuals can have a driver’s license suspend including criminal convictions, civil issues, and other legal matters. Some of the reasons for license suspension include:
- Failure to Comply With Child Support: An individual’s license may be suspended due to failure to comply with child support obligations, which can last until an individual shows satisfaction of these terms.
- Habitually Dangerous or Negligent Drivers: Other times, an individual might have a license suspended because the individual is a habitually dangerous or negligent driver. In these situations, a suspension occurs if an individual accumulates fifteen points on a driving record within 24 months without attending a driving school. Points can be accumulated due to a variety of situations including reckless or aggressive driving, speeding, or violating child safety restraint laws.
- Lack Of Insurance: Driving without insurance is a common reason for license suspension. A conviction for driving without insurance can result in a suspension that lasts for 60 days or longer.
- Felonies: Drivers who have used motor vehicles to commit a felony often have their licenses suspended.
- Medical Conditions: Motor vehicle drivers who have a medical condition that imperils their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle often face license suspensions. These medical conditions can include diabetes, epilepsy, and visual problems in addition to various other physical impairments.
For a first-time driver’s license suspension, individuals can expect to be charged with a misdemeanor that results in two days to a year in jail and a fine between $500 and $1,000. Individuals who face repeat offenses can expect even greater fees and more significant fines. Individuals must also reinstate their driver’s license before driving again.
The fees for driver’s license reinstatement can be significant. While individuals can expect to pay around $200 for a first conviction, individuals who have had a prior license suspension can expect to pay even larger fees.
The Assistance of a Skilled Attorney
There are many obstacles that can suddenly arise as a result of a driver’s license suspension. If you face such a situation, you need the assistance of a skilled Atlanta DUI accident attorney at Yeargan & Kert who knows how to help minimize the negative consequences created by such a charge.