Under 21 Year Old License Suspension Attorney
Facing a License Suspension for an under 21 year old? Fight the Suspension with the Help of a Yeargan & Kert, LLC Expert Traffic Attorney
In Georgia, driving is considered a privilege, not a right. That is why every driver has a driving record. The driving record allows the state to track drivers and yank their driving privilege any time it determines they are bad drivers. Georgia uses a point system to suspend, or take away, a driver’s license. For instance, if you incur too many points on your driving record in Georgia, your driving privileges may be suspended. This is especially true for young drivers who may easily face an under 21 year old license suspension. The Georgia Department of Driver Services handles license suspension for the State of Georgia.
Types of Georgia Traffic Violations that will Generate an Under 21 Year Old License Suspension
Georgia’s Department of Driver Services oversees the point system. Whether a person’s driving privileges are suspended depends on the number of points on their driving record. Each time a driver commits a traffic infraction, also called a traffic violation, points are added to their driving record.
The Department of Driver Servicdeterminesine which traffic violation generates points. Some traffic violations add a high number of points on a record. These points include:
- Speeding 34 miles per hour or more is: six points added to a driving record.
- Speeding 24 to 33 mph is: four points added to a driving record.
- Speeding 19 to 23 mph is: three points added to a driving record.
- Speeding 15 to 18 mph is: two points added to a driving record.
- Aggressive driving is: six points added to a driving record.
- Unlawfully passing a school bus is: six added to a driving record.
- Improperly passing on a curve or hill is: four points added to a driving record.
- Failing to secure a load. The failure causes an accident. The points added to a driving record is two points.
- Violating Georgia’s child safety restraint law is: one point added to a driving record.
- Violating Georgia’s child safety restraint law for a second time is: two points to a driving record.
- Having an open container of alcohol in the vehicle is two points added to a driving record.
- Operating a vehicle while texting is: one point added to a driving record.
- Improperly using a designated for a travel lane for a fourth time is: one point added to a driving record.
- Any other moving traffic violations are three points added to a driving record
The Under 21-year-old License Suspension in Georgia is a Harsher Punishment than for Adults
The state has one punishment for drivers who allegedly commit too many traffic infractions. It is a license suspension. However, the state may not be fair to one segment of drivers when it comes to suspending licenses: drivers under 21 years old. These drivers face a much harsher under 21 year old license suspension.
An adult driver can accumulate 15 or more points on their driving record in a 24-month period and lose their license for 12 months. The first time they lose their license, they may be eligible for a limited driving permit to travel to specific places like work and school.
A driver under 21 years old can lose their driving privileges for having four or more points on their driving record in six months. For instance, if you are accused of improperly passing on a curve or hill, that is four points added to your driving record. Your driving license can be suspended.
Punishment for a second license suspension for anyone under 21 years old is 12 months. Whether the license is suspended depends on the driver’s age. For instance, if you are facing a second license suspension and are 21 years old, your license will not be suspended. If you are facing a second license suspension and you are 20 years old, your license will be suspended for 12 months.
Different Rules for Drivers under 18 Years Old in Georgia
Drivers under the age of 18 are treated differently than their counterparts who are 19 to 21 years old. Accumulating four or more points in a 12-month period will trigger a license suspension for six months. The limited driving permit is not an option. Any second or subsequent license suspension has a punishment of 12 months without driving privileges.
Fighting an Under 21 License Suspension in Georgia
Just because a police officer gives a driver a ticket does not mean automatic guilty. Drivers under 21 years old do have options to avoid accumulating points on their driving record and a license suspension. Keep in mind that some options may or may not help to avoid a license suspension. For example, a driver can plead no contest.
No contest involves not fighting the ticket. The driver does not admit guilty or agree they committed the traffic infraction. Points are not added to the driving record. However, a no contest plea does not work for drivers under the age of 21. A no contest plea is not available to young drivers. Even if a judge accepts the no contest plea the Georgia Department of Driver Services will convert the no contest plea to a guilty plea for all drivers under the age of 21.
Taking the no contest plea is placed on a person’s driving history. This means an insurance company or employer can view the infraction.
Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC and Their Expert Traffic Lawyers about Fighting Your Under 21 Year Old License Suspension
Fighting the license suspension includes many options. You can ask for the Department of Driver Services to decrease the number of points on the record. You can also request a Zero-Point-order. This order allows you to complete a driver’s course. The violation will remain on your record, but no points will be added.
You are not alone. Facing a possible license suspension happens to a lot of people in Georgia. The most helpful thing you can do is contact us t the fight suspension. We are Yeargan & Kert, LLC.
We represent clients who are under 21 years old and facing a license suspension and/or driving under the influence, or DUI, charge. We will provide you with a top notch defense to stop you from losing your driver’s license. Do not worry. Contact Yeargan & Kert, LLC regarding your traffic infraction or criminal charge. We are here for you.
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
“Jim was informative, helpful and reassuring. He never misled me or promised something he was unable to fulfill. I was most impressed with his knowledge of the law and and his character. So many times I have heard of situations where what you’re told is not what you get. Jim is honest, reasonable and very dependable!!”